ncc 48

timeline

ncc48 - netART community congress     Infos     mur.at
Deutsch
Information "mur.at"
Intentions of mur.at
 
The net art platform mur.at, established in 1998, is a strategic alliance of art initiatives and artists of Graz and dedicated to creating an electronic network. mur.at allows networking between different initiatives in the field of art and culture in a [common] virtual space. In analogy to interuniversity networks allowing cooperation in the field of science, mur.at is creating an infrastructure for the arts sector.
 
mur.at
 
is a virtual net sculpture distributed over currently 14 physical network nodes and more than 150 members. The members of mur.at are operating internet servers themselves, thus developing a far-reaching network. The application of new media and technologies is promoted in a special Net Art Competence Center.
As a space for art in Graz, mur.at not only offers an opportunity for new net art projects but also creates a community of artists and recipients.
 
Objectives of mur.at
 
  • Expanding the network through admission of new network nodes
  • Promoting art in electronic networks
  • Documenting and archiving art in electronic networks
  • Building a community in the sector of network art
  • Developing new technologies for application in the arts sector
  • Implementing the Austrian Cultural Backbone , i.e. country-wide networking
  • Public access - interfacing with the public


  • mur.at used the development of the internet as a model for its own structure and organization. Like the internet, mur.at is a loose assembly of local computer networks. Each member of mur.at is responsible for its own network node as well as for the further development of the network. The mur.at network also resembles the internet in that it has been purposefully designed in the form of a decentralized structure, taking into account that independently acting units are the best way to stimulate communication on new technologies. Additionally, the existing and envisaged network nodes of mur.at are located in the context of initiatives in the field of art and culture that already exist as places and/or institutions, each implementing its own specific art projects and attracting its own set of artists. Thus the members of mur.at also represent the interfaces between the internet and the interested public.
     
    homepage: http://mur.at/
     
    contact:
    mur.at - Verein zur Förderung von Netzwerkkunst
    (association for the promotion of networkart)
    Leitnergasse 7, A-8010 Graz
    phone + fax: +43 (0)316 821451 26



    © 20150219,   since 20010202: 2nd ec2-54-224-102-26.compute-1.amazonaws.c of total 028734 hosts

ncc 48

timeline

ncc48 - netART community congress     Infos     mur.at
english
Information "mur.at"
Intention von mur.at
 
Die Netzkunstplattform mur.at existiert seit 1998 und ist ein strategischer Zusammenschluss von Grazer Kunstinitiativen und KünstlerInnen zum Aufbau eines elektronischen Netzwerkes. mur.at ermöglicht die Vernetzung von unterschiedlichsten Kunst- und Kulturinitiativen in einem [gemeinsamen] virtuellen Raum. Vergleichbar mit den universitären Netzen, die gemeinsames Arbeiten im Wissenschaftsbereich ermöglichen, baut mur.at eine Infrastruktur für den Kunstbereich auf.
 
mur.at
 
ist eine virtuelle NetzSkulptur - verteilt auf mittlerweile 14 physikalische Netzwerkknoten und über 150 Mitglieder. Die Mitglieder von mur.at betreiben selber Internet-Server und entwickeln damit ein weitgespanntes Netz. In einem eigenen Competenz Centrum für Netzkunst wird der Umgang mit den Neuen Medien und Technologien gefördert.
Als Kunstraum in Graz ermöglicht mur.at nicht nur neue Netzkunstprojekte, sondern lässt eine Community von Kunstschaffenden und RezipientInnen entstehen.
 
Ziele von mur.at
 
  • Netzausbau durch Aufnahme neuer Netzwerkknoten
  • Förderung von Kunst in elektronischen Netzwerken
  • Dokumentation und Archivierung von Kunst in elektronischen Netzwerken
  • Communitybildung im Bereich der Netzwerkkunst
  • Entwicklung neuer Technologien für den Kunstbereich
  • Umsetzung des austrian cultural backbone - österreichweite Vernetzung
  • public access - Schnittstellenbildung zur Öffentlichkeit


  • Im Aufbau und in der Organisation hat sich mur.at sehr an die Entstehung des Internet angelehnt. Wie das Internet ist auch mur.at ein loser Zusammenschluss von lokalen Computernetzwerken. Die Members von mur.at sind für ihre Netzwerkknoten und für die Weiterentwicklung des Netzes selbst verantwortlich. Das mur.at-Netz ist dem Internet entsprechend ganz bewusst dezentral aufgebaut, da gerade autonom agierende Einheiten die Kommunikation über die Neuen Technologien anregen. Auch sind die bestehenden und die noch geplanten Netzknoten von mur.at in Kunst- und Kulturinitiativen angesiedelt, die als Orte und/oder Institutionen bereits existieren, ihre jeweils spezifischen Kunstprojekte realisieren und jeweils andere KünstlerInnen um sich versammeln. Die Mitglieder von mur.at bilden somit auch die Schnittstellen zwischen dem Internet und einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit.
     
    Homepage: http://mur.at/
     
    Kontakt:
    mur.at - Verein zur Förderung von Netzwerkkunst
    Leitnergasse 7, A-8010 Graz
    Telefon + Fax: +43 (0)316 821451 26



    © 20150219,   seit 20010202: 1st ec2-54-162-47-106.compute-1.amazonaws.c von insgesamt 028308 Rechnern